Brunger House is owned by Simon & Jo Cottam and provides a selection of beautiful accommodation for visitors to Kent & East Sussex. With origins dating back to circa 1540, Brunger House is Grade II listed, and is of both architectural and historic interest. It is a noted house locally featuring in the definitive work on English brickwork and is understood to have been the Dower House to Hales Place.The stunning exterior is of roseate brick elevations beneath a Kent peg tiled roof and crow step gables and catslide to rear and the unusual crow step brick design repeated on the attractive front porch The windows have mainly diamond shaped leaded light panes with some set into arched brick mullioned surrounds. The interior is equally stunning and blessed with some of the finest period features thus confirming the venerable age of this house. There are a wealth of exposed beams and wall timbers, exceptional oak joinery such as wide floorboards, staircases and broad plank latch doors, brick arches, some fitted with arch-top oak doors and fine oak wall panelling, to name but a few. There are also a number of massive inglenook fireplaces with oak bressummer beams.Brunger House was formerly known as Brungar Farmhouse and features in the book ‘Timber & Brick Building in Kent’ by Kenneth Gravett (1971); “Crow-Stepped gables are found on a group of buildings in Tenterden, all dated by Lloyd to the period 1530-1540, although it is possible they are a little later. Brungar Farm is entirely in brick with one stepped gable, moulded brick windows and a different gable to the porch. Although the brickwork is, correctly English Bond, the windows have been altered along the front and it is possible that this house was once partly timber-framed like Bax Farm, or even an earlier timbered house reconstructed”. The Master Bedroom retains some of the original plaster that has been framed with artwork detailing the initials EH, dated 1613, reputedly a reference to Edward Hales, son of John Hales, MP & Baron of the Exchequer.